News and Events

Illinois Green Economy Network Transition and Update

Dear colleagues and friends,

We regret to inform you that Stephen Bell has resigned as Executive Director of the Illinois Green Economy Network (IGEN). Stephen has been Executive Director since 2013 and with the network since 2010. With Stephen’s leadership, IGEN evolved into an internationally recognized model for sustainability in higher education.

Among the network’s accomplishments under Stephen’s direction were building innovative public-private partnerships through the EcoPurchase Program, Sustainability-as-a-Service, and the technology test drive; leveraging the Illinois community college system’s capacity for job-training and workforce development through career pathways with green certificate and degree programs; recognition of excellence in sustainability for Illinois community colleges and their partners across the state; supporting the expansion of the smart grid in Illinois through education and training; and utilizing ┬áIllinois community college campuses as living laboratories. Stephen helped IGEN return to its roots of growing the green economy of Illinois, while making energy-related initiatives, programs, and projects a priority.

Stephen will be missed and we thank him for his unwavering dedication, leadership, and passion. While we are sad to say goodbye to Stephen, we know that he is leaving IGEN in good hands. Katie Davis has been named Interim Executive Director during this transition period, while we develop the next steps and strategy for the future of the network. Katie was previously Senior Program Coordinator and has been a member of the IGEN administrative team for six years.

Through its statewide consortium of Illinois community colleges and partners, IGEN has significant collective impact. Over time, IGEN has demonstrated capacity to leverage its collective impact to provide a platform for communication and to transform education and the green economy for a sustainable future.

We look forward to our continued work together.

Thank you for your support!

The IGEN Presidents’ Steering Committee

Dr. Georgia Costello, Co-Chair, Southwestern Illinois College
President Rob Widmer, Co-Chair, Heartland Community College
Dr. Karen Hunter Anderson, Illinois Community College Board
Dr. John Avendano, Kankakee Community College
Dr. Dale Chapman, Lewis and Clark Community College
Dr. Sylvia Jenkins, Moraine Valley Community College
Dr. Terri Winfree, Prairie State College