News and Events

First Annual IGEN Recognition Awards

Presidents of lead colleges (Dr. Dale Chapman, Lewis and Clark Community College; Dr. Josh Bullock, Lake Land College; and Dr. Terri Winfree, Prairie State College) joined fellow attendees for a group photo during the 2016 IGEN Sustainability Conference.

Recognition awards were presented during the Networking and Recognition Event at Epiphany Farms Restaurant at the 2016 IGEN Sustainability Conference on January 27, 2016. Congratulations and thank you to all recipients!

Our conference brought together over 80 representatives from 22 Illinois community colleges and their partners to share best practices, lessons learned, and successes to advance sustainability across the state. The focus of the conference was to explore the network as a collective impact initiative. Keynote speakers included Brint Milward from the University of Arizona and Marion Lunn from the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity. Highlights from the conference included an Illinois community college presidents panel discussion, statewide partner and sponsor presentations, and the first annual recognition awards! Learn more about the 2016 IGEN Sustainability Conference.

Sustainability Champion Award

Presented to: Tim Gibson, Director of Buildings and Grounds, John A. Logan College

For his outstanding commitment and unwavering dedication to incorporating sustainability into the John A. Logan College campus. For his collaborative spirit and leadership and unparalleled contributions to the IGEN Administrative Team.

To learn about other sustainability champions, check out our Network Affiliates.

Presidential Leadership Award

Presented to: Dr. Georgia Costello, President, Southwestern Illinois College and Dr. Jerry Weber, President, College of Lake County

For their visionary leadership, unwavering dedication and support to championing the network, and for their fearless pursuit of success.

Learn more about our Presidents’ Steering Committee.

College Leadership and Sustainability Award

Presented to: McHenry County College

For serving as an outstanding example of a college that embodies the collaborative spirit of the network, for demonstrating leadership and a willingness to incorporate sustainability as a measure of success, for empowering faculty and staff who are actively engaged in IGEN’s four C’s: greening the college campus, careers, community and curriculum and for contributing to and supporting IGEN initiatives and programs for the network’s greater good.

Learn more about McHenry County College’s sustainability efforts.

Outstanding Partner Award

Presented to: Mightybytes

For partnering with IGEN to create the Smart Power Illinois website with a collaborative, fun, and innovative spirit.

Learn more about Mightybytes and check out the Smart Power Illinois website!

Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to: Bert Jacobson, Dean for Environmental and Institutional Sustainability, Kankakee Community College

For his personal and professional commitment to sustainability, for his role in establishing the initial Illinois Community College Sustainability Network, and for being a source of inspiration for his colleagues, a true champion and role model for the network.

If you have comments or questions about the conference or recognition awards, please contact Katie Davis.